Kids Over 12 Who Trick-Or-Treat Might Go To Jail In A Virginia Town

Kids Over 12 Who Trick-Or-Treat Might Go To Jail In A Virginia Town

With Halloween approaching, kids are getting excited to show off their costumes for this year and trick-or-treat. However, in one Virginia town, kids older than 12 have been excluded from this tradition, and they have even be threatened with fines or even jail time if they decide to take part.

Yup, you read it right.

If you happen to live in Chesapeake, Virginia, and you’re a teenager or older, you’re going to want to slow down with any thoughts of trick or treating. There’s an ordinance in the town that has been taking place for years, and it prohibits anyone above their legal trick-or-treat age from participating in it. The rule was posted on Facebook, and it went viral because it’s literally unbelievable.

So, if a 14-year-old decides to go door to door in hopes of a few candies, he/she can possibly end up in jail for six months. Errm, what?

They also have a Halloween “curfew” of 8 pm, and it demands that anyone who trick-or-treats after the appointed hour will be “guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $10.00 nor more than $100.000 of by confinement in jail for not more than 30 days or both”.

Just to make things clear, these ordinances are not only a thing in the town of Cheasapeake. Several other towns in Virginia have also rules on the books, stating that anyone over the age of 12 could be charged with a class 4 misdemeanor for the “crime” of trick-or-treating.

Look, if there’s a handful of teens that misbehave, don’t ruin it for every middle schooler (or possibly high schooler) who wants to have a little child-like fun.

They have their entire adults lives for things to be miserable and dreary. Let them pretend that they’re still kids at least for one night.

 
Comments
 
Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply